SCHWARZLOSE AND THEIR DESCENDANTS

2012

The company was closed in 1976, but was revived in 2012 and is now once again a leader in the perfume industry.

1951

In 1951, the widow Anni Köthner rebuilt the factory in Berlin-Moabit using funds from the Marshall Plan. In 1975, she gave up the business as a result of the Berlin Senate’s decision that Moabit would be turned into a strictly residential district. In 1929, inflation forced Franz Schwarzlose’s company to restrict itself to retail commerce, but it continued under the leadership of his son Eduard. In 1965, Franz’s grandson Peter Schwarzlose sold Max Schwarzlose’s company to Mouson.

1930

In 1930, Werner Köthner took over the management of the company. He was killed in 1943 as a result of the Nazi regime’s repression. The factory and the business were reduced to ashes in the final days of the war.

1917

Company vehicle in front of the factory in Moabit, 1917. The company logo and the words Rosa Centifolia can be seen on the delivery truck. According to historical accounts, the truck was painted a striking shade of pink for advertising purposes. On 1 October 1907, standardised automobile license plates were introduced for countries within the German Empire. The territory of Prussia was assigned the Roman numeral I and the administrative district Berlin was assigned the letter A. Within Berlin, numbers from 1 to 20 were issued in 1920, including 3 for the district of Wedding and 33 for the sub-district of Moabit. J.F.SCHWARZLOSE SÖHNE used the local license plate assigned to its production location as the name for its scent creation IA–33, a modern scent for sporty, car-loving women.

1902

In 1902, Paul Köthner, together with Max and Franz Schwarzlose, took over the competitor Treu & Nuglisch. The factory in Dreysestraße 5 became a new production site. After 1902, the business was expanded internationally by Paul’s, son Ernst Köthner. Exports to the Chinese Imperial Court brought them increased revenue even during the First World War.

1875

In 1875, the original business was transferred to Paul Köthner, the husband of Joachim’s daughter Clara  Schwarzlose. The cosmetics factory’s range of products included innovations such as the first non-hazardous hair dye in the world, Aureol.

1869

His son Max Schwarzlose founded his own business while another son, Franz, took over the competitor A. Heister & Co.

1856

The piano-maker Joachim Friedrich Schwarzlose set up a chemist’s shop and colonial goods shop with the hope that the lucrative business could provide a good future for his eleven children. The company J.F.Schwarzlose Söhne was located close to Gendarmenmarkt in Berlin.

SCHWARZLOSE UND NACHFAHREN

2012

2012 wurde die 1976 eingestellte Firma revitalisiert und nimmt heute wieder einen führenden Platz in der Parfümeriebranche ein.

J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin

1951

1951 baut die Witwe Anni Köthner die Fabrik in Berlin Moabit aus Mitteln des Marschallplans wieder auf. 1975 kündigt der Senat der Stadt Berlin an, Moabit in ein reines Wohngebiet umzuwandeln, so dass die Inhaberin das Geschäft aufgibt. Das Unternehmen von Franz Schwarzlose wird 1929 inflationsbedingt auf den Handel beschränkt, besteht aber unter der Führung seines Sohnes Eduard weiter. 1965 verkauft der Enkel Peter Schwarzlose die Firma Max Schwarzlose an Mouson.

J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin
J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin
J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin
J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin
J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin
J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin
J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin
J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin

1930

1930 übernimmt Werner Köthner die Führung. Er geht an den Repressalien des Naziregimes 1943 zu Grunde. Fabrik und Geschäft liegen gegen Kriegsende in Schutt und Asche.

1917

Firmenwagen vor der Fabrik in Moabit, 1917. Auf dem Lieferfahrzeug ist das Firmenlogo mit dem Schriftzug Rosa Centifolia zu erkennen. Der Überlieferung nach soll die Lackierung des Fahrzeugs werbewirksam Rosa gewesen sein. Am 1. Oktober 1907 galten einheitliche Autokennzeichen für die Länder des Deutschen Reiches. Das Territorium Preußen erhielt die römische Ziffer I und der Verwaltungsbezirk Berlin den Buchstaben A. Innerhalb Berlins vergab man 1920 Nummern von 1 bis 20, darunter für den Wedding die 3 und dem Unterbezirk Moabit die 33. Diese Nummernschildfolge für den Produktionsstandort benutzte J.F.SCHWARZLOSE SÖHNE als Namen der neuen Duftkreation IA–33. Ein moderner Duft für die sportliche und vom Auto begeisterte Dame.

J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin
J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin

1902

1902 gelingt es Paul Köthner gemeinsam mit Max und Franz Schwarzlose den Konkurrenten Treu & Nuglisch zu übernehmen. Die Fabrik in der Dreysestraße 5 wird neuer Produktionsstandort. Nach 1902 wird das Geschäft vom Sohn Ernst Köthner international ausgebaut. Exporte an den Chinesischen Kaiserhof führen selbst im Ersten Weltkrieg zu Umsatzsteigerungen.

J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin Altruist
J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin 1A-33
J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin Treffpunkt 8 Uhr
J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin
J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin Trance
J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin
J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin

1875

Das Stammgeschäft geht um 1875 in die Hände von Paul Köthner über, dem Ehemann der Tochter Clara Schwarzlose. Das Sortiment der Kosmetikfabrik enthält Produktinnovationen, wie die erste weltweit unschädliche Haarfarbe Aureol.

J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin Treffpunkt 8 Uhr
J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin 1A-33
J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin
J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin
J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin

1869

Der Sohn Max Schwarzlose gründet 1869 ein eigenes Geschäft. Franz übernimmt den Konkurrenten A. Heister & Co.

1856

Der Klavierbauer Joachim Friedrich Schwarzlose gründet 1856 eine Drogen- und Kolonialwarenhandlung, um mit dem lukrativen Unternehmen seinen elf Kindern eine Zukunft zu bieten. Die Firma J.F.Schwarzlose Söhne befand sich in der Nähe des Gendarmenmarktes.

J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin Rausch
J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin 1 A-33
J.F. Schwarzlose Parfum Berlin Trance